fbpx Skip to main content

Today, August 15, 75th year of Indian Independence, and Super365 Sports looks back at the country's 75 most significant sports moments.

Today, August 15, India is celebrating its 75th year of independence, and Super365 Sports is remembering the 74 greatest moments in Indian sports. Please see below for a recap.

1928 India won first ever hockey gold in Amsterdam Olympics
1958 Wilson Jones became the first Indian world champion in snooker in
1950 Abdul Bari reaches the British Open squash final
1951 Indian football team won gold in Asiad Games
1952 K.D. Jadhav wins India’s first-ever individual Olympic medal
1952 India win their fifth hockey gold medal at the Olympics
1952 Tennis player Rita Davar finishes runner-up at junior Wimbledon
1952 Gool Nasikwala wins women’s singles and doubles titles at the inaugural Asian Table Tennis Championships in Singapore
1960 Ramanathan Krishnan reaches Wimbledon singles semifinal
1975 India won Gold in the hockey World Cup
1980 Prakash Padukone won the All England Open
1983 India win their first ever ODI World Cup
1986 PT Usha won five medals in Asian Games
1996 Leander Paes wins tennis in Atlanta
2000 Karnam Malleswari won Bronze at Sydney Olympic
2001 Gopichand won the All England Open
2001 India scripts greatest comeback in history of Test cricket
2002 India won Natwest Trophy
2003 Anju Bobby George won bronze at World Athletics Championships
2004 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore won silver in Athens Olympics
2004 Indian Kabaddi Team won the first Kabaddi World Cup
2004 Kabaddi World Cup was the first ever Kabaddi World Cup and was hosted by India. India won the title defeating Iran 55–27 in the final
2005 Narain Karthikeyan becoming India’s first Formula 1 racer
2007 India winning inaugural World T20
2007 Yuvraj Singh hit six sixes
2007 Viswanathan Anand won unified Chess title
2008 Abhinav Bindra won gold in Beijing Olympics
2008 Beginning of Indian Premier League
2010 Sachin Tendulkar hits 200 in ODI
2011 India won the ODI World Cup
2012 Mary Kom won bronze in London Olympics
2012 Sushil Kumar won second Olympic medal in London
2013 India won the Champions Trophy
2015 Saina Nehwal becomes world no.1
2016 PV Sindhu wins silver medal in Rio Olympics
2018 India won Test series in Australia
2020 India retain Border Gavaskar Trophy
2021 Neeraj Chopra clinches gold in men’s javelin throw at Tokyo Olympics
2022 India’s 2nd only individual gold medal
2021 Bajrang Punia, Ravi Dahiya clinch bronze and silver medal in Tokyo Olympics
2021 PV Sindhu wins 2nd successive Olympics medal with bronze in Tokyo
1958 Mihir Sen becomes the first Indian to swim across the English Channel, from Dover to Calais
2021 Indian women’s hockey team finishes fourth in Tokyo Olympics
2022 Boxer Nikhat Zareen becomes world champion
2010 Sachin Tendulkar becomes the first man to hit ODI double century
2010 Mary Kom clinches bronze in boxing at London Olympics
1971 India’s first Test series win in West Indies
1993 India wins historic Hero Cup at Eden Gardens
1985 India trumps Pakistan to clinch World Championship of Cricket
2012 Yogeshwar Dutt wins bronze at London Olympics
1960 In 1960, Milkha Singh missed winning an Olympic medal by a fraction of 0.1 seconds in the 400m sprint.
1962 India’s Padam Bahadur Mall became the first boxer to win a gold medal at the Asian Games, in Jakarta.
1971 India won its first-ever series in England, defeating the hosts 1-0 in a three-game series
1983 India defeated Zimbabwe in a World Cup group match after Kapil Dev came in to bat at 17-5 and scored an unbeaten 175
2022 India’s women’s lawn bowls team won the first medal in the sport at the Commonwealth Games in 2022 in Birmingham
1980 India win their last Olympic gold medal in Hockey. It is a great achievement as the team won it in a depleted field
1985 India’s cricket squad captured the Benson and Hedges Global Championship of cricket in 1983. The achievement verified that the squad’s 1983 World Cup triumph was not a one-time occurrence. India triumphed in Australia
1985 Bob Marshall was defeated by Geet Sethi in the IBSF World Amateur Billiards Championship
1986 The Indian volleyball team finished third at the Seoul Asian Games, under the guidance of Jimmy George (the nation’s first professional volleyball player in Italy).
1986 A rare medal in swimming at the Seoul Asian Games. Khajan Singh Tokas won silver for India in the men’s 200m butterfly
1987 India host World Cup. It was the first time the prestigious tournament took place outside of England
1987 India’s Sunil Gavaskar becomes the first batter to score 10,000 runs in Test cricket
1988 Viswanathan Anand becomes India’s first ever chess Grandmaster. The chess king of India became an International Master in 1985
1990 India win gold in men’s Kabaddi at the Beijing Asian Games when the sport was introduced
1994 Kapil Dev breaks Richard Hadlee’s record of Test wickets, he finished at 434 Test wickets
1997 Mahesh Bhupathi wins Grand Slam (French Open) in mixed doubles with Rika Hiraki of Japan to become the first Indian to win a Grand Slam
1999 Anil Kumble takes 10 wickets against Pakistan in Delhi. He became the second cricketer to do so after Jim Laker of England
1999 India’s Bhaichung Bhutia becomes the second Indian to play professional football in Europe. He played for a second-division club in England named Bury FC
2004 Virender Sehwag score a triple century against Pakitan and becomes the first Indian batter to do so in Multan against the rivals
2004 India win Test series in Pakistan for the first time
2011 Virender Sehwag scores a double ton against West Indies becoming the second player to do so after the great Sachin Tendulkar
2014 Rohit Sharma scores 264 against Sri Lanka, the first batter to cross the 250-run mark in ODI cricket
2013 Rohit Sharma becomes the third Indian to score a double-ton in ODI cricket, he finished at 209 off 158 balls against Australia
2005 Sania Mirza becomes the first Indian woman to win a WTA singles title. She won AP Tourism Hyderabad Open
2008 Vijender Singh wins bronze for India at Beijing Olympics, country’s first ever medal in boxing at Olympics
happy 75th indian independence day
From Team Super365, we wish all our Indian Friends, a very Happy 75th Independence Day!

Source: Zee News