fbpx Skip to main content
India won 66 medals at the 2018 CWG in Gold Coast – 26 gold, 20 silver, and 20 bronze. Now the wait is for Commonwealth Games 2022.

In a few weeks, the Commonwealth Games 2022 will commence in Birmingham, England. This year’s event is sure to be exciting with athletes from 71 different countries competing. India has sent its largest contingent ever to the games.

The Indian contingent will be coming back with a bang as they are set to play an integral role in the fabric of this year’s games. The athletes have been training hard for their next big event, which promises not only success but also gold medals! There is so much excitement among fans across India- especially those who missed out on taking part last time around due to either lack or availability of tickets at some point during the ticket sale period which ran from November 2010 until March 2011.

The 41st edition of the Commonwealth Games is being held from Thursday, April 18 to Sunday, April 21. The events are spread over four days with one day off between each session for finals alone! This year’s sporting roster features 453 athletes from 71 countries who will be competing in 36 different sports across 17 venues located around Greater Manchester including Salford City Stadium (rowers), Swinton Google Gymnastics Centre (gymnast), and Muslim Sports College In Hulme which houses both Welcoming ceremonies as well sharing their achievement after winning medals overall trophy cast a netted event fans.

From cricket to badminton, hockey to tennis, and shooting to boxing, there are several sportspersons who have made a name for themselves on the global stage. While some were born with natural talent, others have worked extremely hard to achieve success.

Did you know – Indians make up a large percentage of the world’s best athletes? Yes! India has plenty to be proud of when it comes to its sporting talent. From world champions like PV Sindhu and Neeraj Chopra to Olympic stars like Hima Das and Lakshya Sen, the country is home to some of the best athletes in the world. These stars are making India proud by competing at the highest levels and achieving remarkable feats. Here’s a look at some of India’s most promising sports stars as they gear up for another exciting year of competition.

When do the Commonwealth Games 2022 begin?

The Commonwealth Games 2022 will run across 11 days of competition from July 29 to August 8. We should Keep in mind, however, that there’s a nine-hour time difference between Birmingham and the east coast of Australia.

The opening ceremony begins on Friday morning at 4.45 am AEST, with the competition beginning later on Friday for Australian viewers. The closing ceremony takes place at 5.15 am on August 9, 2022.

Where are the 2022 Commonwealth Games being played?

The Commonwealth Games 2022 will be played in Birmingham, United Kingdom.

Where can I watch the Commonwealth Games 2022?

You can watch the Commonwealth Games 2022 on the Sony Sports Network. The live stream of all major events will be available on Sony LIV.

Schedule of the Indian contingent in Commonwealth Games 2022


30 July 2022
Nitender Rawat: Men’s Marathon

02 August 2022
Avinash Sable: Men’s 3000m Steeplechase
Murali Sreeshankar: Men’s Long Jump
Muhammed Anees Yahiya: Men’s Long Jump
Dhanalakshmi Sekar: Women’s 100m
Jyothi Yarraji: Women’s 100m hurdles
Manpreet Kaur: Women’s Shot Put
Navjeet Kaur Dhillon: Women’s Discus Throw

03 August 2022
Aishwarya B: Women’s Triple Jump

05 August 2022
Abdulla Aboobacker: Men’s Triple Jump
Praveen Chithravel: Men’s Triple Jump
Eldhose Paul: Men’s Triple Jump
Neeraj Chopra: Men’s Javelin Throw
DP Manu: Men’s Javelin Throw
Rohit Yadav: Men’s Javelin Throw
Sandeep Kumar: Men’s 10km race walk
Amit Khatri: Men’s 10km race walk
Aishwarya B: Women’s Long Jump
Ancy Sojan: Women’s Long Jump
Annu Rani: Women’s Javelin Throw
Shilpa Rani: Women’s Javelin Throw
Manju Bala Singh: Women’s Hammer Throw
Sarita Romit Singh: Women’s Hammer Throw

06 August 2022
Amoj Jacob: Men’s 4x400m relay
Noah Nirmal Tom: Men’s 4x400m relay
Arokia Rajiv: Men’s 4x400m relay
Muhammed Ajmal: Men’s 4x400m relay
Naganathan Pandi: Men’s 4x400m relay
Rajesh Ramesh: Men’s 4x400m relay
Bhawna Jat: Women’s 10km race walk
Priyanka Goswami: Women’s 10km race walk
Hima Das: Women’s 4x100m relay
Dutee Chand: Women’s 4x100m relay
Srabani Nanda: Women’s 4x100m relay
MV Jilna: Women’s 4x100m relay
NS Simi: Women’s 4x100m relay


29 July 2022
Ashwini Ponappa and B Sumeeth Reddy: Mixed Doubles

03 August 2022
P.V. Sindhu: Women’s Singles
Aakarshi Kashyap: Women’s Singles
Lakshya Sen: Men’s Singles
Kidambi Srikanth: Men’s Singles

04 August 2022
Treesa Jolly: Women’s Doubles
Gayatri Gopichand: Women’s Doubles
Satwiksairaj Rankireddy: Men’s Doubles
Chirag Shetty: Men’s Doubles


30 July 2022
Amit Panghal: Men’s 51kg
Mohammad Hussamuddin: Men’s 57kg
Shiva Thapa: Men’s 63.5kg
Rohit Tokas: Men’s 67kg
Sumit Kundu: Men’s 75kg
Ashish Chaudhary: Men’s 80kg
Sanjeet Kumar: Men’s 92kg
Sagar Ahlawat: Men’s 92+kg
Nitu Ghanghas: Women’s 48kg
Nikhat Zareen: Women’s 50kg
Jasmine Lamboria: Women’s 60kg
Lovlina Borgohain: Women’s 70kg


Men’s Team
31 July 2022
India vs Ghana
01 August 2022
England vs India
03 August 2022
Canada vs India
04 August 2022
India vs Wales

Women’s Team
29 July 2022
India vs Ghana
30 July 2022
India vs Wales
02 August 2022
India vs England
03 August 2022
Canada vs India

Men’s Team
July 29: Round 1 & Round 2
July 30: Round 3
July 31: Quarterfinals
August 1: Semifinals
August 2: Finals

Women’s Team Events Schedule
July 29: Round 1 & Round 2
July 30: Round 3
July 30: Quarterfinals
July 31: Semifinals
August 1: Finals


30 July 2022
Mirabai Chanu: Women’s 55kg
Sanket Mahadev: Men’s 55kg
Chanambam Rishikanta Singh: Men’s 55kg

31 July 2022
Bindyarani Devi: Women’s 59kg
Jeremy Lalrinnunga: Men’s 67kg
Achinta Sheuli: Men’s 73kg
01 August 2022
Popy Hazarika: Women’s 64kg
Ajay Singh: Men’s 81kg

02 August 2022
Usha Kumara: Women’s 87kg
Purnima Pandey: Women’s 87+kg
Vikas Thakur: Men’s 96kg
Ragala Venkat Rahul: Men’s 96kg


05 August 2022
Bajrang Punia: Men’s 65kg
Deepak Punia: Men’s 86kg
Mohit Grewal: Men’s 125kg
Anshu Malik: Women’s 57kg
Sakshi Malik: Women’s 62kg
Divya Kakran: Women’s 68kg

06 August 2022
Ravi Kumar Dahiya: Men’s 57kg
Naveen: Men’s 74kg
Deepak: Men’s 97kg
Pooja Gehlot: Women’s 50kg
Vinesh Phogat: Women’s 53kg
Pooja Sihag: Women’s 76kg