fbpx Skip to main content

IND vs BAN Highlights: India beat Bangladesh by 5 runs in a rain-shortened game in ICC T20 World Cup. Virat Kohli & KL Rahul star as India jump to Top of Group 2, defeating Bangladesh by five runs.



IND vs BAN Highlights | T20 World Cup

In a match that needed to be won in Adelaide, India defeated Bangladesh by 5 runs. India scored 184/6, with half-centuries from KL Rahul and Virat Kohli.

With an outstanding 27-ball 60, Liton Das gave Bangladesh the lead, but the rain break halted their pursuit.

Arshdeep Singh and Hardik Pandya secured crucial wickets following the weather delay to enable India to clinch first place in Group 2.

After the goal had changed to 151 in 16 overs, Bangladesh could only muster 145/6.

Bangladesh got off to a fast start as they chased a lofty aim of 185. After being elevated to the opener position, Liton Das’s strokes lighted up Adelaide Oval.

Before the rain stopped the run, Liton made 59 off 26 deliveries. His blitz, which produced 66/0 in 7 overs, kept Bangladesh in the game. But then it started to rain.

Rain delayed them for over 45 minutes before India could compose itself. Bangladesh led the Duckworth-Lewis-Stern (DLS) technique by 17 runs.

When the game resumed, Bangladesh’s revised aim was 151 in 16 overs; with all wickets in hand, they needed another 85 in nine overs.

The pitch’s surface and the soggy outfield did not assist. After the rain delay, Liton slipped, and KL Rahul’s direct hit from a distance sent him back in the opening over.

After a weather delay, Team India scored in the opening over. KL Rahul struck a superb direct hit to run out Bangladesh’s opener to keep India in the game after Litton Das had scored 60 off 27 balls.

Virat Kohli’s Performance over Bangladesh | IND vs BAN Highlights

Virat Kohli is once more scoring runs, just like he did in the past. Virat has rediscovered his mojo after a brief spell in which he felt nothing was going his way.

In the current ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, he has showcased a valuable asset to the Men in Blue.

Virat Kohli is back to scoring runs at his best after a recent struggle with consistency and form.

Beginning of this year, at the Asia Cup T20 competition in the United Arab Emirates, the 33-year-old regained his lost touch, and ever since then, he has been tearing up.

On September 8 against Afghanistan in Dubai, Kohli scored an international century, ending an almost three-year wait, and has not looked back since.

In the bilateral T20I series against Australia and South Africa in September and October, he performed admirably at home.

He has brought the same form to Australia for the T20 World Cup.

He has scored 220 runs in the four games he has played in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, which is the most of any batter in the ongoing competition this year.

Virat has three half-centuries to his name and has gone three games undefeated.

On Wednesday (November 2), he helped India defeat Bangladesh by a slender margin of five runs while remaining unbeaten on 64 from 44 balls.

In the process, he surpassed all previous record holders to become the leading run scorer in the previous and current editions of the T20 World Cup.

Indian Captain Rohit Sharma | India vs Bangladesh Highlights

Some of each. I was both composed and uneasy at the same time. We all needed to maintain our composure and carry out our plans.

The outcome seemed debatable, with 10 wickets in hand, but after the break, we performed admirably. We requested he performed that task when he arrived.

When Bumrah is absent, someone must step up and assume responsibility for us; for a young man to come and carry out this task is complex. But we made him ready for it.

He has been doing it for the past nine months. He or Shami was a decision, but we went with the person who had previously completed the task for us.

I think he was there, but it only took a few innings here and there for him to win the Asia Cup.

We never had any concerns, and his outstanding batting performance throughout this World Cup has undoubtedly helped us.

I, too, enjoyed KL’s performance today. We are aware of the type of player he is and how his ability to bat may change the situation for the club.

Our fielding was excellent, and it was exciting to witness some of the catches we made.

Because of the game’s intensity, our players’ ability to make those catches is demonstrated. Honestly, I never had any concerns about our fielding.

Shakib Al Hasan | Bangladesh captain | India vs Bangladesh Highlights

When we play against India, it tends to seem like we are almost there but fall short. It was a fantastic game that both teams enjoyed, and that’s what we wanted.

But, in the end, someone must triumph and fail. Litton Das is currently our best hitter.

We gained a lot of momentum and the conviction that we could chase this down with these short boundaries because of the manner he batted in the powerplay.

The top four players from India are pretty dangerous. We bowled Taskin through since our goal was to grab those 4, which was our strategy.

Sadly, he did not pick up any wickets, although he was economical. Not much; we’ve been quite easygoing.

Virat Kohli | Player of the Match | IND vs BAN Highlights

Quite a close contest. We would have preferred to be farther away. A successful day I was using the bat. There was some pressure when I entered.

I wanted my intuition to be able to handle little errors. I am content right now. I don’t want to make any historical comparisons.

I was beaming from ear to ear as soon as I realized that the WC was in Australia. According to what I know, accurate cricket shots will be crucial here.

I always hit through the line, regardless of the format. For me, it is merely an extension. I enjoy competing in this field. I feel at home here. I’m supposed to have fun when I visit Adelaide.

IND vs BAN | Playing XI

India Playing XI

Rohit Sharma(C), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik(W), Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh

Bangladesh Playing XI

Al Hasan(C), Najmul Hossain Shanto, Litton Das, Afif Hossain, Yasir Ali, Mosaddek Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Nurul Hasan(W), Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Taskin Ahmed