fbpx Skip to main content

Women Asia Cup 2022 | Harmanpreet Kaur will captain the Indian women team at the Asia Cup, which begins on October 1.

Women Asia Cup 2022 | As announced by the BCCI, the Indian women’s squad will compete in the Women’s Asia Cup 2022, which begins on October 15.

The tournament will be held in Bangladesh and played in the T20I format.

Much to India’s relief, a fit-again Jemimah Rodriguez would be returning to the squad after missing the England tour.

Rodrigues had to sit out due to a wrist injury while the Indian women wreaked havoc in England.

Except for a middle-order specialist, the team is similar to the one that faced England in the recently concluded T20I series.

Notably, the right-handed batsman missed the current England tour due to a wrist injury sustained during a stint in the Women’s Hundred.

Northern Turbocharger Rodrigues has spent three weeks in rehab at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru since her return.

Ghosh, Richa has retained their position as a frontline wicketkeeper after impressing lower-order hitting against England during the series.

Also, include Tania Bhatia. Who was the Commonwealth Games’ first-choice wicketkeeper, was on the standby list, along with medium-pace bowlers Simran Bahadur,

Meghna Singh and Renuka Singh will lead the bowling attack, with all-rounder Pooja Vastrakar joining them.

The Women in Blue have two left-arm tweezers among spinners as a third-seam option.

On the other hand, Radha Yadav, Rajeshwari Gaikwadi Sneh Rana, and Deepti Sharma are all-rounders who will provide off-spin to a well-balanced team led by Harmanpreet Kaur.

In the multi-team event, India will face Sri Lanka on the first day (October 1) before facing Malaysia and the UAE on the third and fourth days, respectively.

They will then play arch-rival Pakistan and neighbouring Bangladesh on 7 and 8 October, followed by a league match against Thailand on October 10.

Rodrigues is the only change to the Indian squad that England beat 2-1 in the T20I series due to a poor batting performance in the decider, leaving the Women in Blue in shambles.

However, Richa Ghosh, who performed an incredible show with the willow, was kept in the squad.

Due to the inclusion of Richa Ghosh, Taniya Bhatia, the first-choice keeper in the Commonwealth Games, was unable to win a single game against England.

It has been moved to the standby list for the upcoming continental extravaganza alongside Simran Bahadur.

Kiran Prabhu Navgire, who made her debut in the English series, was given another chance to show her strength after a strong series against England.

While Meghna and Renuka Singh were in charge of the Women in Blue’s pace attack.

Rajeshwari Gayakwad and Radha Yadav will be India’s frontline spinners, with Deepti Sharma, Sneh Rana, and Pooja Vastrakar providing comprehensive support to the Indian attack.

The Asia Cup for Women will return after a four-year hiatus, with the seven participating teams competing in a round-robin format before the top four teams qualify for the knockouts.

Indian Women Team Asia Cup 2022:

  1. Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain)
  2. Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain)
  3. Deepti Sharma
  4. Shafali Verma
  5. Jemimah Rodrigues
  6. S Meghana
  7. Richa Ghosh (wk)
  8. Sneh Rana
  9. Dayalan Hemalatha
  10. Meghna Singh
  11. Renuka Singh
  12. Pooja Vastrakar
  13. Rajeshwari Gayakwad
  14. Radha Yadav
  15. Kiran Navgire

Standby Players:

  1. Taniya Bhatia,
  2. Simran Bahadur

The Women Asia Cup 2022 Schedule:

1st October – Bangladesh vs Thailand (2 pm IST) / India vs Sri Lanka (6:30 pm IST)
2nd October – Pakistan vs Malaysia (2 pm IST) / Sri Lanka vs UAE (6:30 pm IST)
3rd October – Pakistan vs Bangladesh (2 pm IST) / India Malaysia (6:30 pm IST)
4th October – Sri Lanka vs Thailand (2 pm IST) / India vs UAE (6:30 pm IST)
5th October – UAE vs Malaysia (2 pm IST)
6th October – Pakistan vs Thailand (2 pm IST) / Bangladesh vs Malaysia (6:30 pm IST)
7th October – Thailand vs UAE (2 pm IST) / India vs Pakistan (6:30 pm IST)
8th October – Sri Lanka vs Malaysia (2 pm IST) / India vs Bangladesh (6:30 pm IST)
9th October – Thailand vs Malaysia (2 pm IST) / Pakistan vs UAE (6:30 pm IST)
10th October – Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh (2 pm IST) / India vs Thailand (6:30 pm IST)
11th October – Bangladesh vs UAE (2 pm IST) / Pakistan vs Sri Lanka (6:30 pm IST)
13th October – SF 1: Team 1 vs Team 4 (2 pm IST) / SF 2: Team 2 vs Team 3 (6:30 pm IST)
15th October – Final