fbpx Skip to main content

India vs South Africa Highlights: Rohit Sharma Breaks Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s record. Team India’s Hat-Trick Win Before T20 World Cup

The Indian cricket team thrashed visiting South Africa by eight wickets in the first T20 match of the three-match series.

Team India has now taken a 1-0 lead in the series. The team captained by Rohit Sharma has now won three consecutive T20 International matches.

India won the series against Australia by winning the final two games of the three-match series.

With the victory over South Africa, Rohit Sharma has added a significant achievement to his resume.

The bowlers backed captain Rohit Sharma, who won the toss and invited South Africa to bat.

South Africa’s bowling attack, led by Arshdeep Singh and Deepak Chahar, faltered, losing five wickets for nine runs.

This win is Team India’s 16th T20 International victory in a calendar year, led by experienced right-handed batsman Rohit Sharma.

India had won 15 T20 International matches in a calendar year under the captaincy of former India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni. Dhoni accomplished this feat in 2016.


  • Rohit Sharma has won 16 T20 matches so far in 2022. India won a hat-trick before the T20 World Cup.
  • On October 2, Team India will face South Africa in the second T20.

South Africa Lost Five Wickets During The Powerplay

Aidan Makram scored 25 runs, and Harshal Patel caught lbw, while Wayne Purnell, who batted slowly, scored 24 runs in 37 balls. Keshav Maharaj hit 41 runs off 35 balls before giving up the wicket in the final over to Harshal Patel.

The tourist team finished with 106 runs. In response, India won the match with 20 balls remaining.

Rizwan stepped on the national flag, which Josh had autographed. While Suryakumar Yadav hit a half-century in 33 balls for India, KL Rahul, who had a poor game, hit a six in 16.4 balls and led the team to victory. Rahul completed his half-century in 56 balls.

India’s pacers batted brilliantly. Earlier, Arshdeep Singh scored 32 runs and took three wickets for India, while Deepak Chahar scored 24 runs and took two wickets.

Harshal Patel batted for 26 runs and took two wickets. Akshar Patel scored 16 runs and took one wicket.

Arshdeep Singh gained three wickets in the second over of the match and was named Man of the Match on his T20 debut.

Rohit Sharma Broke Dhoni's Captaincy Record

Team India has already broken the record for most wins in a calendar year. This win has broken Pakistan’s previous record.

Rohit Sharma has reached a new milestone as a captain. The batsman holds the record for the most T20 matches won by a Team India captain in a calendar year.

First T20I between India and South Africa

Mahendra Singh Dhoni won 15 games in 2016. Rohit Sharma, a record-breaking Hitman, with 16 victories so far in 2022. Rohit Sharma’s record will likely rise further with two more matches against South Africa.

India & South Africa Playing XI

Team India Playing XI: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik, Akshar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Arshadeep Singh

Team South Africa Playing XI: Quinton de Kock(wicket-keeper), Temba Bavuma(captain), Riley Rossouw, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Ernik Norkia, Tabriz Shamsi